Become a product manager
and develop successful products

Have you ever wondered who developed products like iPhone, Spotify, or TikTok? We’ll tell you! It was a team consisting of software engineers, designers, and product managers.

Is Product Management the right fit for you?

The decision is entirely up to you. But if your fingertips are tingling to understand customer needs, you know how to communicate with users and stakeholders of the company, you want to make sure that the right product is being built, are as curious to explore markets and industries as you are to interpret data and you can integrate respectfully in a team, Product Management is the right fit for you. It is essential to understand that Product Managers are the opposite of lone fighters: there is no Product Manager without a team.

What will you learn as a Product Management student at CODE?

Our students learn to base their decisions on theoretical and practical insights from economics, data science, systems and design thinking, psychology, strategy, agile methodology, marketing, software engineering, and project management. And since you have to be an ambassador for your product and talk to many different people every day – from the software engineer to the CEO of the company- will help you become a stellar presenter and communicator.

Which spectrum of technology applications you will cover?

Our students explore software solutions as well as hybrid products involving hardware. They work on highly scalable products that aim to combine social and community-driven purposes with profitability. For instance, one area of focus is on innovative products that help the economy to become more sustainable, and strengthen society’s resilience in a future of increasingly volatile ecosystems.

I chose to study Product Management at CODE because I fell in love with the pedagogy’s description as it reflects perfectly what I was looking for and which values I believed in. Diversity and transdisciplinarity are melted together in the CODE’s environment to support exploration and inventiveness.Adrien Sosson, #thirdparty student

Your career choices: 50 Shades of Product Management

It’s not easy to say “this is a typical product manager”. You can find several types of product managers out there in different industries. The role and its responsibilities can even vary from company to company. However, we are trying to shed light on the most common ones right now:

  • Growth Product Manager

    A data-driven decision-maker, detail-oriented strategist, organized and looking forward to working in larger organizations and later-stage products.
    Main focus: marketing analysis, data science & product marketing.

  • Experience Focused Product Management

    Good listener and communicator, always putting the customer first, right eye for excellent user experience, enjoys in-depth conversations with designers and developers.
    Main focus: research methods, user experience.

  • Community Focused Product Management

    The customers’ voice, strives for changing the world while embracing cultural diversity, and it’s an expert in transferring user wishes into viable products.
    Main focus: culture, arts, bridging gaps.

  • Entrepreneurial Product Manager

    Willing to stand on your own two feet and resilient, a good networker, visionary, and a great communicator that can bring the right people together.
    Main focus: business models, finance, stakeholder communication.

  • Platform & Tech Product Manager

    Analytical tech enthusiast and a strong communicator always prepared to dive into technical discussions with the team.
    Main focus: tech stack, APIs, integration.

Want to learn more about Product Management?

CODE is all about new ways of learning

The most effective way to learn is not by passively absorbing selected facts and ready-made content to reproduce for the next exam. Information is best remembered when it is embedded in the context of practical meaning. That’s where curiosity-driven education comes into play.

There are core competencies that every product manager needs to be successful, while other focus areas allow our students to deepen their knowledge and find their profile of expertise. Some skills can be learned in the classroom, but most are developed with experience, good role models, and mentoring. Unlike traditional universities, we value interdisciplinary approaches. All three parts of digital product development – software engineering, interaction design, and product management – are interwoven throughout our bachelor programs. This way, our students gain experience in collaboration setups already during their studies, giving them a vital foundation to build on in their professional life.

At CODE, the role of our faculty is different. It’s all about knowledge sharing, and they see themselves as coaches and mentors, encouraging students to push boundaries and shape their profile. Studying at CODE guides students to decide what kind of product manager they want to be and who they want to become in their professional life.

Modules

The program is focused on a set of modules that explore the range of
the discipline product management. As a future product manager, you will choose the modules you want to explore.

  • Communication & Presentation
  • Customer Discovery & Market Research
  • KPIs & Data Analysis
  • Product Marketing
  • Requirements Engineering
  • Product Innovation & Definition
  • Agile Process Management
  • Product Strategy
  • Partnership Management
  • Intercultural Management
  • Consumer Psychology
  • Entrepreneurship

Meet our PM team

Our professors and lectures focus on enabling our students to have meaningful firsthand experiences, guiding them to reflect on these experiences critically, and empowering them to master our challenging interdisciplinary projects.

Permanent faculty members

Freelance faculty members

Charles Andreo

Benjamin Bolland

Dirk Hassenstein

Luis Hügel

Ferry Kluger

Markus Müller

Radosław Orszewski

Humphrey Yeboah

Learn more about our application process

At CODE we want to attract the most talented and passionate students, not the most privileged. In our admission process, we aim to challenge your drive and curiosity.

Intersection with other study programs

As part of an interdisciplinary learning experience, many modules offered by the Interaction Design and Software Engineering departments are also credited towards the Product Management Bachelor degree.

Three Bachelor programs for young talents

Decide within your orientation semester, whether you are a developer, designer or an entrepreneur and choose the focus, that fits best for you.

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Bachelor of Arts in Interaction Design (B.A.)

Your career choices

As a successful product manager, your feet rest firmly on a solid foundation of business economics, marketing and data analysis, while your eyes are fixed on the sky: dreaming up valuable, usable and feasible visions for new products and software solutions. In order to successfully design and implement a new product, product managers have to be passionate about all aspects of the product – from software engineering and technical features to front-end and interaction design. Fluent in coder-speak, product managers have their artsy designer vocabulary at the ready and shine in board-room management presentations.

Begin your CODE journey today!

To apply, please visit our Application Portal

Werde Produktmanager*in
und entwickle erfolgreiche Produkte

Hast du dich jemals gefragt wie erfolgreiche Produkte wie das iPhone, Spotify oder Tiktok entstehen? Wir verraten es dir! Es war ein Team aus Interaction Designer, Software Engineer und Produkt Manager.

Ist Produktmanagement das Richtige für dich?

Die Entscheidung liegt ganz bei dir. Aber wenn es dir in den Fingerspitzen kribbelt, die Bedürfnisse der Kunden zu verstehen, du weißt, wie du mit den Nutzern und Interessengruppen eines Unternehmens kommunizieren musst, du sichergehen willst, dass das richtige Produkt gebaut wird, du ebenso neugierig auf die Erschließung von neuen Märkten und Branchen bist wie auf die Auswertung von Daten und du dich respektvoll in ein Team integrieren kannst, dann ist Produktmanagement genau das Richtige für dich. Es ist wichtig zu verstehen, dass Produktmanager das Gegenteil von Einzelkämpfern sind: es gibt keinen Produktmanager ohne ein Team.

Was wirst du im Produktmanagement Studium an der CODE lernen?

Unsere Studierenden lernen, ihre Entscheidungen auf theoretische und praktische Erkenntnisse aus Wirtschaft, Data Sciences, System- und Design Thinking, Psychologie, Strategie, agiler Methodik, Marketing, Softwareentwicklung und Projektmanagement zu gründen. Und da du ein Botschafter für dein Produkt sein musst und jeden Tag mit vielen verschiedenen Menschen sprechen musst – vom Software-Ingenieur bis zum CEO des Unternehmens – wirst du ein hervorragender Moderator und Kommunikator werden.

An welchen Projekte wirst du arbeiten?

Unsere Studierenden beschäftigen sich sowohl mit Softwarelösungen als auch mit hybriden Produkten aus Soft- und Hardware. Sie arbeiten an skalierbaren Produkten, die darauf abzielen, soziale und gemeinschaftsorientierte Zwecke mit Rentabilität zu verbinden. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt beispielsweise auf innovativen Produkten, die dazu beitragen, die Wirtschaft nachhaltiger zu gestalten und die Widerstandsfähigkeit der Gesellschaft in einer Zukunft mit zunehmend unbeständigeren Ökosystemen zu stärken.

Genauso wie jedes Orchester einen Dirigenten oder eine Dirigentin braucht – so brauchen Produktteams jemanden, der oder die die Vision und Strategie festlegt und das Team schließlich zum Erfolg führt. Als Produktmanager*in ist dies deine Aufgabe!

Ich habe mich für ein Produktmanagement-Studium an der CODE entschieden, weil ich mich in die Beschreibung des Lernkonzepts verliebt habe, da dieses perfekt widerspiegelt, wonach ich gesucht habe und an welche Werte ich glaube. Diversität und Interdisziplinarität werden an der CODE gelebt, um Entdeckergeist und Erfindungsreichtum zu unterstützen.Adrien Sosson, #thirdparty Student

Deine Entscheidung: 50 Shades of Produktmanagement

Es ist nicht leicht zu sagen, „dies ist ein typischer Produktmanager“. Du kannst verschiedene Typen von Produktmanager*innen in verschiedenen Branchen finden. Die Rolle und ihre Verantwortlichkeiten können sich sogar von Unternehmen zu Unternehmen unterscheiden. Wir versuchen die häufigsten zu erklären:

  • Growth Product Manager

    Ein datengetriebener Entscheidungsträger, ein detailorientierter Stratege, der organisiert ist und sich darauf freut, in größeren Organisationen und Produkten für spätere Phasen zu arbeiten.
    Schwerpunkt: Marketinganalyse, Datenwissenschaft & Produktmarketing.

  • Experience Focused Product Management

    Guter Zuhörer und Kommunikator, der den Kunden immer an die erste Stelle setzt, richtiger Blick für exzellente Benutzererfahrung, genießt eingehende Gespräche mit Designern und Entwicklern.
    Schwerpunkt: Recherche Methoden, Benutzererfahrung.

  • Community Focused Product Management

    Die Stimme der Kunden, die danach strebt, die Welt zu verändern und dabei die kulturelle Vielfalt zu berücksichtigen, ist ein Experte in der Umsetzung von Kundenwünschen in praktikable Produkte.
    Schwerpunkt: Kultur, Kunst, Brücken bauen zwischen verschiedenen Menschen.

  • Entrepreneurial Product Manager

    Bereit, auf eigenen Füßen zu stehen und belastbar, ein guter Netzwerker, Visionär und ein großartiger Kommunikator, der die richtigen Leute zusammenbringen kann.
    Schwerpunkt: Geschäftsmodelle, Finanzen, Stakeholder-Kommunikation.

  • Platform & Tech Product Manager

    Enthusiast für analytische Technik und ein starker Kommunikator, der immer bereit ist, sich in technische Diskussionen mit dem Team zu stürzen.
    Schwerpunkt: Technologiestapel, APIs, Integration.

Möchtest du noch mehr erfahren über die Aufgaben eines Produktmanagers?

An der CODE wirst du eine völlig neue Art des Lernens kennenlernen

Der effektivste Weg zu lernen, besteht nicht darin, ausgewählte Fakten und vorgefertigte Inhalte passiv aufzunehmen und sich für die nächste Prüfung in den Kopf zu prügeln. Denn Informationen werden am besten in einem Kontext mit praktischem Bezug gespeichert. Genau hier kommt unser Ansatz „Curiosity-driven Education“, also dem von Neugier getriebenem Lernen, ins Spiel.

Es gibt Kernkompetenzen, die jeder Produktmanager braucht, um erfolgreich zu sein, während andere Schwerpunktbereiche es unseren Studierenden ermöglichen, ihr Wissen zu vertiefen und ihr Kompetenzprofil zu finden. Einige Fähigkeiten können im Unterrichtsraum erlernt werden, aber die meisten werden mit Erfahrung, guten Vorbildern und Mentoring entwickelt. Im Gegensatz zu traditionellen Universitäten schätzen wir interdisziplinäre Ansätze. Alle drei Bereiche der digitalen Produktentwicklung – Softwareentwicklung, Interaktionsdesign und Produktmanagement – sind in unseren Bachelor-Studiengängen miteinander verwoben. Auf diese Weise sammeln unsere Studierenden bereits während des Studiums Erfahrungen in Kooperationsaufbauten und erhalten so eine wichtige Grundlage, auf der sie in ihrem Berufsleben aufbauen können.

An der CODE ist die Rolle unserer Professoren anders. Es geht um Wissensaustausch, und sie verstehen sich als Coaches und Mentoren, die die Studierenden ermutigen, Grenzen zu überschreiten und ihr Profil zu formen. Das Studium an der CODE leitet die Studierenden an, zu entscheiden, welche Art von Produktmanager sie sein wollen und wer sie in ihrem Berufsleben werden wollen.

Lerne unser PM-Team kennen

Unsere Professorinnen und Professoren konzentrieren sich darauf, unseren Studierenden sinnvolle Erfahrungen aus erster Hand zu ermöglichen, diese kritisch zu reflektieren und sie in die Lage zu versetzen, unsere anspruchsvollen interdisziplinären Projekte zu meistern.

Charles Andreo

Armine Avagyan

Benjamin Bolland

Achim Grunwald

Dirk Hassenstein

Luis Hügel

Ferry Kluger

Boris Libeert

Markus Müller

Radosław Orszewski

Module

Der Studiengang konzentriert sich auf eine Reihe von Modulen, die das Spektrum von Produktmanagement definieren. Als zukünftige*r Produktmanager*in wählst du die Module aus, die für deine individuelle Weiterentwicklung im Zentrum stehen.

Communication & Presentation
Customer Discovery & Market Research
KPIs & Data Analysis
Product Marketing

Requirements Engineering
Product Innovation & Definition
Process Management
Product Strategy

Partnership Management
Intercultural Management
Consumer Psychology
Entrepreneurship

Schnittstelle zu anderen Studiengängen

Im Rahmen unseres interdisziplinären Lehransatzes werden zahlreiche Module der Studiengänge Interaction Design und Software Engineering auch auf den Bachelor-Abschluss Produktmanagement angerechnet.

Studier doch, was du (wirklich) willst!

Entwickler*in, Designer*in oder Produktmanager*in? Das Orientierungssemester hilft dir bei der Studien– und Schwerpunktwahl. Du entscheidest erst, wenn du dir sicher bist.

Bachelor of Science: Software Engineering

Bachelor of Arts: Interaction Design (B.A.)

Deine Karrieremöglichkeiten

Als erfolgreicher Produktmanager steht man mit den Füßen fest auf einem soliden Fundament aus Betriebswirtschaft, Marketing und Datenanalyse, während der Blick zum Himmel gerichtet ist: Wertvolle, brauchbare und realisierbare Visionen für neue Produkte und Softwarelösungen. Um ein neues Produkt erfolgreich zu konzipieren und zu implementieren, müssen Produktmanager alle Aspekte des Produkts leidenschaftlich verfolgen – von Konzeption über technische Features bis hin zum Front-End- und Interaktionsdesign. PMs haben kein Problem sich Programmieren gegenüber verständlich auszudrücken, haben ihr künstlerisches Designer-Vokabular griffbereit und glänzen in Präsentationen in der Vorstandsetage.