Interaction Design – Bachelor of Arts

This program takes future designers on a journey that explores the look, feel and behavior to create positive experiences through technology.

In the vast and fast-paced discipline of Interaction Design our study program prepares you to work in the creative industry where you put the human, instead of the function, as the starting point of designing the interaction with technology.

Why I decided to study Interaction Design? An Interaction Designer deals with many different issues such as user experience, visual design and creates therewith a product that is appealing and intuitive for the user at the same time.Dominic
Student at CODE

At CODE you will experience a new way of learning

The most effective way to learn is not by passively absorbing selected facts and ready-made content to reproduce for the next exam. Information is best remembered when it is embedded in a context of practical meaning. That’s where curiosity-driven education comes into play.

Apply now!

By registering for our application process, you will receive an email from us with an invitation to set up your personal account.

Questions? Do not hesitate to contact us!

Your career choices

Interaction designers have a strong grasp of human-centred design processes, digital (and analogue) methods and tools used in the field. You will develop the capacity to creatively experiment, rapid prototype from low-fidelity sketches to pixel-perfect mockups and validate ideas towards final solution. The experience will lead you to develop empathy and awareness, a tactile sense for aesthetics, and understand user-friendliness. As part of the interdisciplinary learning model you will learn to collaborate in diverse teams, engage with different stakeholders and confidently present your work to an audience. To be prepared in industry, you are expected to create an alignment between customer needs, product strategy and your design solution. Interaction design is not just about the visual but also about intangible experiences. You are responsible for designing the interfaces between humans and technologies.

The discipline is vast and rapidly changing! Learn about different designers profiles on Digitale-leute.de

Modules

The program is focused on a set of modules that explore the range of
the discipline interaction design. As a future interaction designer, you will choose the modules you want to explore.

Image Composition
Generative Design
Editorial Design
Screen Design
Design History

Design Methods 1 (Introduction)
Design Methods 2 (Advanced)
Design Psychology
Brand Design
Animation

Infographics
Physical Interfaces
Interactive Environments
Sound, Voice and Conversation
Navigation Design

Augmented / Virtual Reality
Video
Responsive Design
Design Strategy

Intersection with other study programs

As part of an interdisciplinary learning experience, many modules offered by the
Software Engineering and Product Management departments are
also credited towards the Interaction Design bachelor degree.

Three bachelor programs for young talents

Decide within your orientation semester, whether you are a developer, designer or an entrepreneur and choose the focus, that fits best for you.

CODE University of Applied Sciences Studying

Bachelor of Arts in Product Management

CODE University of Applied Sciences Project Work

Bachelor of Arts in Software Engineering

Detailed module descriptions

Image Composition

Use of for example color, contrast, shapes, and proportions according to the principles of aesthetics. Using the media photography as an expressive tool.

Generative Design

Processing is used to teach programming principles within the context of visual media. Data visualization will cover different types of graphs and ways to display and manipulate data in a creative way.

Editorial Design

This module is intended to introduce the student to the fundamentals of Visual Communication practice. Additionally, this module introduces students to fundamental principles and applications of design, emphasizing critical, social and cultural awareness of design issues and developing of technical skills.

Screen Design

This module gives a general overview of interactive interfaces on screen-based devices. Further, students learn to create a consistent kit including all needed elements for building the functions of a service or product, e.g. guidelines, control elements, screen design.

Design History

This module provides a general overview of the most important designers. The module also provides an insight into visions and foresight, with which it encourages students to understand their own work and that of key practitioners in a historical, theoretical, social and ethical framework.

Design Methods 1 (Introduction)

An introduction to human-centered design as commonly conducted in interaction design. Interaction designers are designers of interaction and this is the expertise and focus they bring to a design team.
Design Methods 2 (Advanced)

Design Methods 2 (Advanced)

A further range of design methods for practice to structure student’s continuing studies in design. Theoretical context includes experience design framework, secondary and primary research and data analysis.

Design Psychology

The student will learn relevant theories from basics, such as psychological needs, positive experiences, emotions, perception, cognition, and effect, to more specific theories regarding spatial behavior, such as individual territoriality, personal space, and the need of privacy.

Brand Design

This module investigates company values and focuses on promotion and the reasoning behind a product or service. It visualizes a product story with the right tone of voice, needed in order to build a long-term brand-customer relationship.

Animation

This module explores sequential and interactive image making: 2D and 3D animation, narrative, timing, creative storytelling, scripting, sound. The student works on modeling, composing scenarios, background, and foreground, textures and shapes.

Infographics

In this module students how infographics transform information into concise images that are easy to understand so messages can be communicated to the user in a quick, visual and understandable way.

Physical Interfaces

Arduino is used to teaching an understanding of digital, physical interaction beyond screen and touchpad. Basic electronic circuits are created with the use of Fritzing as well as the breadboard and electronic components.

Interactive Environments

The interactive environments module explores the possibilities for dynamic, interactive spaces in which people and buildings engage in a mutual relationship. By connecting data and experiences that develop through this relationship, the built environment becomes an interactive, adaptive and animated entity.

Sound, Voice and Conversation

This module gives a general overview of conversational interfaces, voice control, and sound design. It discusses the multiple advantages of these technologies in terms of effectiveness and emotional design but also addresses technical and social barriers.

Navigation Design

Navigation design is needed to guide users through visual, acoustic and haptic interfaces, providing orientation and predictability. This module gives an overview of the framework of global and local, supplemental and contextual navigation.

AR & VR

In a virtual or augmented reality, the user can interact with a computer-generated or real imagery based 3D environment through multi-modal displays that support interaction through vision, hearing, and touch.

Video

This module provides an overview of methods and tools aiming to create compelling motion pictures. This includes storytelling and storyboarding, shots and framing, camera angles and movements, illumination, editing, after effects and sound.

Responsive Design

This module explores the theoretical, design-related and technical aspects of responsive design. Using contemporary tools and methods, students will then learn how to create screen designs based on responsive criteria and principles.

Design Strategy

This module sits at the intersection between Interaction Design and Product Management. It explores the new and emerging role for design in industry and its contribution to product innovation and value proposition.

Interaction Design – Bachelor of Arts

Studierende erforschen, inwiefern sich Gefühle und Verhalten durch Technologie positiv beeinflussen lassen.

In der großen und schnelllebigen Welt von heute
bereitet dich unser Bachelor-Program auf die Arbeit in der Kreativbranche vor. Bei der Gestaltung der Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Maschine steht bei uns der Mensch im Fokus, nicht die Funktionen.

Was ich an ID so spannend finde? Ein Interaction Designer beschäftigt sich mit vielen verschiedenen Punkten wie User Experience, Visual Design und erschafft damit ein Produkt, welches ansprechend und intuitiv für den User zugleich ist.Dominic
Student an der CODE

An der CODE wirst du eine völlig neue Art des Lernens kennenlernen

Der effektivste Weg, zu lernen, besteht nicht darin, ausgewählte Fakten und vorgefertigte Inhalte passiv aufzunehmen und sich für die nächste Prüfung in den Kopf zu prügeln. Denn Informationen werden am besten in einem Kontext mit praktischem Bezug gespeichert. Genau hier kommt unser Ansatz „Curiosity-driven Education“, also dem von Neugier getriebenem Lernen, ins Spiel.

Bewirb dich jetzt!

Trag deinen Namen und deine E-Mail-Adresse ein und wir laden dich auf unsere Bewerbungsplattform ein. Dort findest du dann alle weiteren Informationen.
Noch Fragen? Gerne: Schreib uns!

Deine Karrieremöglichkeiten

Interaction Designer haben ein ausgeprägtes Verständnis für menschenzentrierte Designprozesse sowie digitale (und analoge) Methoden und Werkzeuge, die in der Praxis eingesetzt werden. Sie besitzen die Fähigkeit, kreativ zu experimentieren, schnelle Prototypen zu entwerfen – von Skizzen zu pixelgenauen Mockups – und Ideen zur endgültigen Lösung zu validieren. Durch ihre Erfahrungen entwickeln sie ein besonderes Einfühlungsvermögen und Bewusstsein für Benutzerfreundlichkeit sowie einen Sinn für Ästhetik. Im Rahmen des interdisziplinären Lernmodells an der CODE wirst du in verschiedenen Teams arbeiten, dich mit verschiedenen Stakeholdern austauschen und eure gemeinsamen Projekte vorstellen. Um dich auf dein Arbeitsleben vorzubereiten, wirst du Kundenbedürfnisse und Produktstrategien verstehen und in der Lage sein, daraus die besten Designlösungen zu erstellen. Beim Interaction Design geht es nicht nur um das Visuelle, sondern auch um das Immaterielle: Du bist verantwortlich für die Gestaltung der Schnittstellen zwischen Mensch und Maschine.

Interaction Design ist ein weites Feld und ändert sich schnell. Erfahre mehr über verschiedene Designerprofile auf Digitale-leute.de

Module

Der Studiengang konzentriert sich auf eine Reihe von Modulen, die das Spektrum von Interaction Design definieren. Als zukünftiger Interaction Designer wählst du die Module aus, die für deine individuelle Weiterentwicklung im Zentrum stehen.

Image Composition
Generative Design
Editorial Design
Screen Design
Design History

Design Methods 1 (Introduction)
Design Methods 2 (Advanced)
Design Psychology
Brand Design
Animation

Infographics
Physical Interfaces
Interactive Environments
Sound, Voice and Conversation
Navigation Design

Augmented / Virtual Reality
Video
Responsive Design
Design Strategy

Lerne unser ID Team kennen

Unsere Professorinnen und Professoren konzentrieren sich darauf, dir sinnvolle Erfahrungen aus erster Hand zu ermöglichen, diese kritisch zu reflektieren und dich in die Lage zu versetzen, anspruchsvolle interdisziplinäre Projekte zu meistern.

Markus Angermeier

Fabian Gampp - External Lecturer CODE University of Applied Sciences

Fabian Gampp

External Lecturer Surya Gied CODE University of Applied Sciences

Surya Gied

Mario Gorniok-Lindenstruth - External Lecturer CODE University of Applied Sciences

Mario Gorniok-Lindenstruth

Veruschka Götz

External Lecturer Stefanie Kegel - CODE University of Applied Sciences

Stefanie Kegel

Frank Müller-Pierstorff

Janina Muenker

Rainer Scheerer

Dinko Verži

Dinko Verži

Schnittstelle zu anderen Studiengängen

Im Rahmen unseres interdisziplinären Lehransatzes werden zahlreiche Module der Studiengänge Softwareentwicklung und Produktmanagement auch auf den Bachelor-Abschluss Interaction Design angerechnet.

Studier doch, was du (wirklich) willst!

Entwickler, Designer oder Produktmanager? Du entscheidest.

CODE University of Applied Sciences Studying

Bachelor of Arts: Product Management

CODE University of Applied Sciences Project Work

Bachelor of Arts: Software Engineering

Detaillierte Modulbeschreibungen

Image Composition

Durch die Verwendung von Fotografie als Medium, wird die Nutzung von Farbe, Kontrast, Formen und Proportionen entsprechend der Prinzipien der Ästhetik vermittelt.

Generative Design

Durch die Verwendung von Processing werden Programmierprinzipien im Kontext von visuellen Medien vermittelt. Des Weiteren werden auf kreative Weise Daten angezeigt und manipuliert.

Editorial Design

Dieses Modul soll den Studierenden die Grundlagen der Praxis der visuellen Kommunikation vermitteln. Darüber hinaus führt dieses Modul die Studierenden in die Grundprinzipien und Anwendungen von Design ein und betont dabei kritische, soziale und kulturelle Aspekte.

Screen Design

Dieses Modul gibt einen allgemeinen Überblick über interaktive Schnittstellen auf bildschirmbasierten Geräten. Darüber hinaus lernen die Studierenden einen konsistenten Baukasten zu erstellen, der alle notwendigen Elemente zum Aufbau der Funktionen einer Dienstleistung oder eines Produkts enthält.

Design History

Dieses Modul gibt einen allgemeinen Überblick über die wichtigsten Schlüsselfiguren des Designs und einen Einblick in das Erstellen von Visionen, das die Studierenden befähigt, ihre eigene Arbeit in einem historischen, theoretischen, sozialen und ethischen Kontext zu verstehen.

Design Methods 1 (Einführung)

Das Modul gibt eine Einführung in das human-centred design, mit dem Fokus auf die Interaktion zwischen Mensch und Technik. Des Weiteren sollen die Studieneden anschließend in der Lage sein, in einem Design Team ihre Expertise des ganzheitlichen Gestaltens von Interaktionen zur Anwendung zu bringen.

Design Methods 2 (Vertiefung)

Eine Erweiterung um komplexe Methoden für die Praxis zur Strukturierung des weiterführenden Designstudiums. Dies umfasst verschiedene Frameworks, Forschungsansätze sowie für die Designforschung nötige Datenanalyse.

Design Psychology

Die Studierenden lernen relevante Theorien von Grundlagen über psychologische Bedürfnisse, positive Erfahrungen, Emotionen, Wahrnehmung, Kognition und Empfindungen.

Brand Design

Dieses Modul beinhaltet die Erstellung von Markenwerten und deren Anwendung auf ein Produkt oder eine Dienstleistung. Dies bezieht sich nicht nur auf die Erscheinung der Marke z.B. durch Elemente wie ein Logo, sondern wird ganzheitlich auf alle Kundenschnittstellen angewendet.

Animation

Die Studierenden arbeiten an der Modellierung, der Komposition von Szenen, Texturen und Formen. Dieses Modul untersucht die bewegte und interaktive Bildgestaltung in 2D und 3D. Dies beinhaltet des Weiteren Animation, Timing, kreatives Storytelling, Scripting und Sound.

Infographics

In diesem Modul lernen die Studierenden, wie Infographics Informationen in prägnante Bilder umwandeln, die leicht verständlich sind, so dass Botschaften schnell, visuell und verständlich an die Nutzer*innen übermittelt werden können.

Physical Interfaces

Werkzeuge wie zum Beispiel Arduino werden verwendet, um ein Verständnis der digitalen, physischen Interaktion zu vermitteln. Der grundlegende elektronische Aufbau wird erst mit Hilfe von Fritzing und dann durch elektronische Komponenten erstellt.

Interactive Environments

Das Modul Interactive Environments untersucht das Gestalten dynamischer und interaktiver physischer Räume. Das Erfahren von Raum und das Experimentieren in dem selben steht hierbei im Mittelpunkt.

Sound, Voice, and Conversation

Dieses Modul gibt einen allgemeinen Überblick über Dialogschnittstellen, Sprachsteuerung und Sounddesign. Es werden die vielfältigen Vorteile dieser Technologien in Bezug auf Nutzbarkeit und Emotionen diskutiert.

Navigation Design

Navigation Design wird benötigt, um die Benutzer*innen durch visuelle, akustische und haptische Schnittstellen zu führen und Orientierung und Vorhersehbarkeit zu gewährleisten.

Augmented Reality & Virtual Reality

In einer virtual oder augmented Reality können Nutzer*innen mit einer computergenerierten oder realen 3D-Umgebung interagieren. Die Interaktion wird unterstützt durch Sehen, Hören und Berührungen.

Video

Dieses Modul gibt einen Überblick über Methoden und Werkzeuge zur Erstellung von Filmen, dazu gehört Elemente wie Storytelling, die Erstellung eines Drehplans, arbeiten mit der Kamera, Beleuchtung, Filmschnitt, Nachbearbeitung und Sound.

Responsive Design

Dieses Modul untersucht die theoretischen und technischen Aspekte des Responsive Designs. Mit modernen Werkzeugen und Methoden lernen die Studierenden, wie man Interaktionen in Screens erstellt, welche auf reaktionsschnellen Kriterien und Prinzipien basieren.

Design Strategy

Dieses Modul befindet sich an der Schnittstelle zwischen Interaction Design und anderen Disziplinen. Es untersucht die neue und sich abzeichnende Rolle des Designs in der Industrie und seinen Beitrag zu Produktinnovation und Erlebniserstellung.