Real-life Projects

At CODE, projects are at the core of every student’s learning experience.

Project-based learning

Project-based learning is very similar to problem-based learning. However, it allows for more freedom and flexibility. While problem-based learning has more controlled conditions because the students face open-ended problems that are based on predefined scenarios, project-based learning is broader and can involve multiple, not that well-defined problems. It requires teamwork, communication, and self-reflection.

Projects at CODE

Our projects are an integral part of CODE’s learning concept. You will work in a team that is interdisciplinary and comprises two to six team members. Projects allow you to gather professional skills during your study program. Project challenges can be centred on a customer-driven problem, a commercial opportunity, or simply as an open-ended exploratory question allowing you to research, experiment and prototype.

Project work at CODE is different. You aren’t doing a project for three months just to present it in the end. CODE gives you the opportunity to work on a real-life problem that YOU are curious about. By that you not only learn how to do state-of-the-art product development but also how to work in an interdisciplinary team, you can learn from real customers and maybe you even launch your product in the end and found your own startup.LUKAS MENZEL, Product Management student

Here’s what students go through during the PPP

The projects available to you are based on ideas handed in before the PPP. They can be handed in by students, CODE partners, and professors. In the first week, these project ideas are pitched in Stage Announcements; students interested in specific ideas join one-hour Interest Meetings to discuss them and possibly join the project team. During this time, lecturers will be moving from one meeting to another, ready to answer questions and help you move forward in case you get stuck. By the end, one student should be the dedicated project owner to drive the idea forward and build a team around it.

In the remaining two weeks of the Project Pre-Phase, you work with your teammates to make sure you have a clear idea of how you’ll spend the rest of the semester. The Project Outline which you need to fill out during this can guide you to topics worth thinking about. like time commitment, learning goals, module overlaps, and communication guidelines. Starting the first week, lecturers are available for Consulting Sessions. Your Project Pre-Phase ends when a lecturer signs off your Project Outline. That’s the moment when you enter your Project-Phase and all the exciting things that will happen in the coming weeks!

Pre-Project-Phase

  • Pitch a project

    Students, professors and partners can pitch project ideas. Listen to the presentations and meet for several interest meetings, until you find your perfect team and idea.

  • Project Forms

    Project challenges can be centered around a customer-driven problem, an interesting technology, or simply as an open-ended exploratory question allowing you to research, experiment and prototype.

  • Modules and Learning Units

    Choose your modules and learning units according to the competencies and skills that you want to learn in your project. Your mentor and the professors will help you to identify them.

All sorts of things can happen when you’re open to new ideas and playing around with things.Stephanie Kwolek, American chemist who invented synthetic fibres

Curious about what projects look like?

Between the Lines

Between The Lines is a non-profit organization that helps teenagers in difficult life situations. In the last semester, a team of CODE students developed an app for Between the Lines, which provides teenagers in need with individual information and shows regional and national help institutions, contact and advice centers.

Sozo Robotics

Sozo Robotics is an autonomous robot that can locate people who are buried under rubble after an earthquake. The project started when a team of 10 students wanted to work on a technology that would have an impact on human lives.

Rowa

Rowa is a product that enables offices to effortlessly green their space by growing their food on-site. It is a soilless indoor farm (hydroponics) that can grow different types of lettuce. The mission was to create an actionable solution to the world’s food supply and meet the needs of the future.

Goodbuy.official

Goodbuy.official is a web-app that allows users to scan grocery items and get direct feedback as to whether it belongs to one of the top 10 corporations or not. The idea behind this web-app is to enable users to consume sustainable and ethical goods and avoid the 10 corporations as they are responsible for the adverse effects on our society and nature.

Artify

Artify is a project from the orientation semester and was created in only four weeks. The #nextgen team created an algorithm that reproduces the music you listen to on Spotify in an artistic and visual way. Artify transforms personal Spotify playlists into a unique work of art over a long period of time. The color and frequency of the elements depicted adjust depending on the tempo or pitch of the songs. You can see an example of the art in the picture!

Ocelot

Ocelot is a core-semester project as well, developed by a team of #firstclass students. This project involves the development of an iOS application aimed at making the lives of GraphQL API developers easier. It allows users to enter queries and immediately see the resulting JSON. Additionally, they can look through the API’s documentation. Ocelot is completely open-source so that anyone interested can read, use and extend the code. The Ocelot team’s goal is to create an easily scalable, well-written application.

Shindig

Shindig is an Augmented Reality (AR) drawing application that allows creative minds to draw anywhere without pens or papers. The app was developed by four CODE students for their core-semester project. Shindig enables users and their friends to interact, become more creative together through daily challenges and to be a part of the artsy community. They can save, share and discover other creators’ drawings by following the integrated map to the exact location.

Social Record

Social Record showcases how social media platforms are exploiting the lacking knowledge about data privacy and how users can protect themselves. The student project created an immersive exhibition where all active social media users could experience what public data social media providers expose about the visitors.

Prepare for some intensive challenges

Once all students have choosen their projects for the coming semester, the project-based learning begins.

Preparing for the team work

In the first step everyone starts preparing for their roles and responsibilities. Whether to rely on books, or different online resources for your preparation is a decision you have to make for yourself. Talk to your fellow students or get together with members from other teams with similar roles and responsibilities. Our teaching staff offers advice and any help you need.

Discussing it with your team coach

About once a week the teams will meet with their team coach, who is part of our teaching staff. His or her responsibility is not to give you technical advice or assist you in managing your tasks. Instead, they will discuss with you the quality of your collaboration and communication as an interdisciplinary team, conflicts between team members and how to resolve them and how you can improve as a team. This is the second part of the challenge-based learning.

Attending guilds

During term time, students can attend weekly expert meetups, each one focussing on an important technology, framework, product-management topic or design aspect. Each guild, which represents the third part of our challenge-based learning approach, has a designated expert who organizes and moderates their meetup sessions. The meetups do not have a fixed agenda or curriculum. Instead, students can present a case, a question or a problem they are facing with their project.

Demo Day – Presenting the projects

Once a year we invite everyone who is interested in our student’s semester work to our Demo Day.

Demo Day was one of those days where I realized how lucky we are to be at CODE and to be surrounded by so many ambitious, smart and hard-working people every day.Selma Illig, #nextgen Software Engineering

Our Demo Days are very special days for us. Every semester we are surprised and excited by the projects our students come up with — either with our partners or in their student project groups.
This is why we have decided to give our students their very own stage on which to show the world the digital solutions they have come up with.

Several student projects get the chance to present on stage in front of a large crowd and all projects are presented in a booth during an exhibition.

I wanted to study at CODE because the learning concept is simply perfect for me. Through many practical projects, I am able to gain skills which will actually help me realize my own ideas.Louisa Weyerhäuser, student at CODE

Projekte aus der Praxis.

An der CODE stehen Projekte im Mittelpunkt der Lernerfahrung.

Projekt-basiertes Lernen

Projektbezogenes Lernen ist dem problembasierten Lernen sehr ähnlich. Es ermöglicht jedoch mehr Freiheit und Flexibilität. Während problembasiertes Lernen unter stärker kontrollierten Rahmenbedingungen stattfindet, weil die Studierenden mit offenen Problemen konfrontiert sind, die auf vordefinierten Szenarien basieren, ist projektbasiertes Lernen breiter angelegt und kann mehrere, nicht so genau definierte Probleme beinhalten. Es erfordert Teamarbeit, Kommunikation und Selbstreflexion.

Projekte an der CODE

Unsere Projekte sind ein integraler Bestandteil des Lernkonzepts von CODE. Du arbeitest in einem Team, das interdisziplinär ist und aus zwei bis sechs Teammitgliedern aus allen Semestern besteht. Die Projekte ermöglichen es dir, während deines Studiums berufliche Fähigkeiten zu erlernen. Die Herausforderungen in den Projekten können sich auf ein kundenorientiertes Problem, eine kommerzielle Möglichkeit oder einfach als offene Forschungsfrage konzentrieren, die es dir ermöglicht, zu forschen, zu experimentieren und einen Prototyp zu entwickeln.

Die Projektarbeit an der CODE ist anders. Man arbeitet nicht drei Monate lang an einem Projekt, nur um es am Ende zu präsentieren. CODE gibt dir die Möglichkeit, an einem realen Problem zu arbeiten, auf das DU neugierig bist. Dadurch lernst du nicht nur, wie man Produktentwicklung auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik durchführt, sondern auch, wie man in einem interdisziplinären Team arbeitet. Du kannst von realen Kunden lernen und vielleicht sogar dein Produkt am Ende auf den Markt bringen und dein eigenes Startup gründen.LUKAS MENZEL, Product Management Student

So entstehen unsere Projekte

Die Projekte, die dir zur Verfügung stehen, basieren auf Ideen, die vor der PPP eingereicht wurden. Diese können von Studierenden, CODE-Partnern und ProfessorInnen eingereicht werden. In der ersten Woche werden diese Projektideen auf unserer Bühne vorgestellt; Studierende, die an bestimmten Ideen interessiert sind, nehmen an einstündigen Treffen teil, um diese zu diskutieren und sich möglicherweise dem Projektteam anzuschließen. Während dieser Zeit werden die Lehrenden von einem Treffen zum anderen wechseln, bereit, Fragen zu beantworten und dir weiterzuhelfen, falls du nicht weiterkommst. Am Ende sollte ein Studierender der Projektverantwortliche sein, der die Idee vorantreibt und ein Team um sie herum aufbaut.

In den verbleibenden zwei Wochen der Projektvorbereitungsphase arbeitest du mit deinen Kommilitonen zusammen, um sicherzustellen, dass du eine klare Vorstellung davon hast, wie du den Rest des Semesters verbringen wirst. Die „Project Outline“, die du während dieser Zeit ausfüllen musst, kann dich zu Themen führen, über die es sich lohnt, nachzudenken, wie z.B. Zeitaufwand, Lernziele, Modulüberschneidungen und Kommunikationsregeln. Ab der ersten Woche stehen Lehrende für Beratungsgespräche zur Verfügung. Deine Projektvorbereitung endet, wenn ein Professor deine „Project Outline“ unterschreibt. Das ist der Moment, in dem du in deine Projekt-Phase eintrittst.

Pre-Project-Phase

  • Präsentiere eine Projektidee

    Studierende, ProfessorInnen und CODE Partner können Projektideen vorschlagen. Hör dir die Präsentationen an und nehme an mehreren Interessententreffen teil, bis du dein perfektes Team und Idee gefunden hast.

  • Verschiedene Projektformen

    Die Projekte können sich um Kundenprobleme oder eine interessante Technologie drehen oder einfach als offene Fragestellung dienen, die es dir ermöglicht, zu forschen, zu experimentieren und einen Prototyp zu entwickeln.

  • Modules und Learning Units

    Wähle deine Module und Learning Units entsprechend den Kompetenzen und Fähigkeiten, die du in deinem Projekt lernen möchtest. Dein Mentor und die Professoren werden dir helfen, diese zu identifizieren.

Alles Mögliche kann passieren, wenn man offen für neue Ideen ist und mit Dingen herumspielt.Stephanie Kwolek, Amerikanische Chemikerin & Erfinderin synthetischen Fasern

Neugierig, wie CODE Projekte aussehen?

Between the Lines

Between The Lines ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation, die Jugendlichen in schwierigen Lebenssituationen hilft. Im letzten Semester hat ein Team von CODE-Studierenden eine App für Between the Lines entwickelt, die bedürftige Jugendliche mit individuellen Informationen versorgt und regionale und nationale Hilfseinrichtungen, Kontakt- und Beratungsstellen aufzeigt.

Sozo Robotics

Sozo Robotics ist ein autonomer Roboter, der Menschen lokalisieren kann, die nach einem Erdbeben unter Trümmern begraben sind. Das Projekt begann, als ein Team von 10 Studierenden an einer Technologie arbeiten wollte, die tatsächlich Einfluss auf die Menschheit haben würde.

Rowa

Rowa ist ein Produkt, das es Büros ermöglicht, ihre Flächen mühelos zu begrünen, indem sie ihre Lebensmittel vor Ort anbauen. Es handelt sich um einen Hydrokultur, in der verschiedene Salatsorten angebaut werden können. Die Mission war es, eine praktikable Lösung für die weltweite Nahrungsmittelversorgung zu schaffen und den Bedürfnissen der Zukunft gerecht zu werden.

Goodbuy.official

Goodbuy.official ist eine Web-App, mit der Benutzer Lebensmittel einscannen und direktes Feedback erhalten können, ob sie zu einem der 10 Monopol-Unternehmen gehören oder nicht. Die Idee hinter dieser Webanwendung ist es, den Benutzern zu ermöglichen, nachhaltige und ethische Güter zu konsumieren und die 10 Monopol-Unternehmen zu meiden, da sie für die negativen Auswirkungen auf unsere Gesellschaft und die Natur verantwortlich sind.

Artify

Artify ist ein Projekt aus dem Orientierungssemester und wurde in nur vier Wochen erarbeitet. Das Team hat einen Algorithmus entwickelt, der die Musik, die du auf Spotify hörst, auf künstlerische und visuelle Weise reproduziert. Artify verwandelt persönliche Spotify-Playlisten über einen langen Zeitraum in ein einzigartiges Kunstwerk. Die Farbe und Frequenz der dargestellten Elemente passen sich dem Tempo oder der Tonhöhe der Lieder an. Auf dem Bild sieht man ein Beispiel für die Kunst!

Ocelot

Ocelot ist ebenfalls ein Projekt, das von einem Team von Software Engineering Studierenden entwickelt wurde. Dieses Projekt umfasst die Entwicklung einer iOS-Anwendung, die das Leben vin GraphQL-API-Entwicklern erleichtern soll. Sie ermöglicht es Benutzern, Abfragen einzugeben und das resultierende JSON sofort zu sehen. Außerdem können sie die Dokumentation der API einsehen. Ocelot ist vollständig open-source, so dass jeder Interessierte den Code lesen, verwenden und erweitern kann. Das Ziel des Ocelot-Teams ist es, eine leicht skalierbare, gut geschriebene Anwendung zu entwickeln..

Shindig

Shindig ist ein AR-Zeichenprogramm (Augmented Reality), das es kreativen Köpfen ermöglicht, überall ohne Stifte oder Papier zu zeichnen. Die Anwendung wurde von vier CODE Studierenden als ihr Semester-Projekt entwickelt. Shindig ermöglicht es den Benutzern und ihren Freunden, miteinander zu interagieren, durch tägliche Herausforderungen gemeinsam kreativer zu werden und ein Teil der künstlerischen Gemeinschaft zu sein. Sie können die Zeichnungen anderer Schöpfer speichern, austauschen und entdecken, indem sie der integrierten Karte zum genauen Standort folgen.

Social Record

Social Record zeigt, wie Social-Media-Plattformen das mangelnde Wissen über den Datenschutz ausnutzen und wie sich die Nutzer selbst schützen können. Das Studierendenprojekt schuf eine immersive Ausstellung, in der alle aktiven Social-Media-Nutzer erfahren konnten, welche öffentlichen Daten Social-Media-Anbieter über die Besucher preisgeben.

Bereite dich auf einige intensive Herausforderungen vor

Sobald alle Studierenden ihre Projekte für das kommende Semester ausgewählt haben, beginnt das projektbasierte Lernen.

Vorbereitung auf die Teamarbeit

Im ersten Schritt beginnt jeder, sich auf seine/ihre Rolle und Verantwortung vorzubereiten. Ob man sich bei der Vorbereitung auf Bücher oder verschiedene Online-Ressourcen stützt, ist eine Entscheidung, die man selbst treffen muss. Sprich mit deinen Kommilitonen oder triff dich mit Mitgliedern anderer Teams mit ähnlichen Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten. Unsere ProfessorInnen bieten dir Beratung und jede Hilfe an, die du brauchst.

Diskussionen mit deinem Teamcoach

Etwa einmal pro Woche treffen sich die Teams mit ihrem Teamcoach, das können ProfessorInnen oder auch Studierende sein. Die Verantwortung des Coaches besteht nicht darin, dir technische Ratschläge zu geben oder dir bei der Bewältigung deiner Aufgaben zu helfen. Stattdessen werden sie mit dir über die Qualität deiner Zusammenarbeit und Kommunikation als interdisziplinäres Team, über Konflikte zwischen den Teammitgliedern und deren Lösung sowie darüber, wie du dich als Team verbessern kannst, diskutieren. Dies ist der zweite Teil des projektbasierten Lernens.

Teilnahme an den Gilden

Während des Semesters können die Studierenden an wöchentlichen Gilden teilnehmen, die sich jeweils auf eine wichtige Technologie, ein Framework, ein Produktmanagement-Thema oder einen Design-Aspekt konzentrieren. Jede Gilde, die den dritten Teil unseres projektbasierten Lernansatzes repräsentiert, hat einen ausgewiesenen Experten, der die Treffen organisiert und moderiert. Die Meetups haben keine feste Tagesordnung oder einen festen Lehrplan. Stattdessen können die Studierenden einen Sachverhalt, eine Frage oder ein Problem präsentieren, mit dem sie bei ihrem Projekt konfrontiert sind.

Demo Day – Projekt Präsentationen

Einmal im Jahr laden wir alle, die an den Semesterprojekten unserer Studierenden interessiert sind, zu unserem Demo Day ein.

Der Demo Day war einer jener Tage, an denen mir noch einmal bewusst wurde, wie glücklich wir sein können an der CODE zu sein, und jeden Tag von so vielen ehrgeizigen, klugen und hart arbeitenden Menschen umgeben zu sein.Selma Illig, #nextgen Software Engineering

Unsere Demo-Days sind ganz besondere Tage für uns. Jedes Semester sind wir überrascht und begeistert von den Projekten, die sich unsere Studierenden ausdenken – entweder mit unseren Partnern oder in ihren studentischen Projektgruppen.
Deshalb haben wir beschlossen, unseren Studenten eine eigene Bühne zu geben, auf der sie der Welt ihre digitalen Lösungen zeigen können.

Mehrere Studierendenprojekte erhalten die Chance, auf der Bühne vor einer großen Zuschauermenge zu präsentieren, und alle Projekte werden in einem Stand während einer Ausstellung präsentiert.

Ich wollte an der CODE studieren, weil das Lernkonzept einfach perfekt für mich ist. Durch viele praktische Projekte kann ich Fähigkeiten erwerben, die mir helfen, meine eigenen Ideen zu verwirklichen.Louisa Weyerhäuser, Studentin an der CODE