Sometimes good ideas need a decade to ripen

When Thomas Bachem – self-taught software engineer and designer – was looking for study programs to promote his endeavors as an internet entrepreneur, he was disappointed to see that the academic landscape mostly focused on the never-changing basic principles of Computer Science, instead of the exciting new possibilities of the internet and its opportunities.

He decided to study Economics at a private business school in Cologne, which is where he experienced firsthand the radical drive to apply academic theories to the real world and a personal, supportive learning environment. Out of both his fruitless search for a truly applied software-engineering program and his revolutionary experience at the private university, the idea for CODE was born: CODE would be to Computer Science what business schools are to classic Economics programs.

One decade later, Thomas had already founded several successful internet startups. As an entrepreneur and employer, he discovered time and time again that good software engineers, designers and product managers – the key drivers for ambitious digital companies – are a rare resource in Europe and Germany in particular because classical university programs rarely qualify young men and women for the challenges of the new economy.

The best way to predict the future is to invent it.Alan Kay, Computer Pioneer

Supported by internet and startup entrepreneurs

This core belief is widely shared among industry leaders and is the reason why more than two dozen of the most renowned, tech-enthusiastic internet and startup entrepreneurs back CODE.

Recently, there were several articles in the press releasing the names of our supporters and investors.

Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first to get our updates!

Backed by the academic community

Our academic council provides us with the latest insights in our field‘s research, a strong tie to the scientific community, and decades of experience in creating meaningful learning environments. They help us identify those professors, researchers and lecturers who share our drive for excellence, our common mission, and support our educational approach.

Dr. Shermin Voshmgir

Blockchain Expert, Founder of BlockchainHub, Public Speaker and Guest Lecturer at Vienna University of Economics

Prof. Dr. Birger Priddat

Economist and Philosopher, Senior Professor and former president of Witten/Herdecke University

Prof. Dr. Achim Bachem

Mathematician and Computer Scientist, Former Chairman of Forschungszentrum Jülich and German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Prof. Dr. Sven Ripsas

Entrepreneur and Educator, Professor of Entrepreneurship at Berlin School of Economics and Law

Prof. Dr. Diana Knodel

Computer Scientist and Entrepreneur, Founder of App Camps, Visiting Professor at TU Berlin

Prof. Dr. Michael Erlhoff

Design Theorist and Art Historian, Founding Dean of Köln International School of Design and honorary Professor at HBK

Prof. Dr. Stephan Stubner

Dean of HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management

On a mission to empower the Digital Pioneers of tomorrow

CODE offers a project-orientated and challenge-based learning experience that stimulates personal growth and enables students to develop professional competencies as well as communicative and social skills. CODE is supported by two dozen of Germany’s most renowned internet entrepreneurs and provides an income-based delayed tuition model to attract the most talented students regardless of their personal financial background.

Meet the team

Our team consists of internet entrepreneurs and higher-education professionals. We combine the advantages of an agile startup mindset with a decade of experience in managing progressive private universities.

Don’t aim for success if you want it; just do what you love and believe in, and it will come naturally.David Frost, Journalist

Manuel Dolderer

manuel@code.berlin

President

Thomas Bachem

tom@code.berlin

Chancellor

Jonathan Rüth

jonathan@code.berlin

COO

Ina Wagner

ina@code.berlin

Head of Student Relations

Britta Kiwit

britta@code.berlin

Head of Marketing

Margaux Pelen

margaux@code.berlin

Head of Partnerships

Wo sich Digitaler Pioniergeist entfalten kann

Die CODE ist eine neue staatlich anerkannte Hochschule in Berlin, deren Bachelor-Studiengänge auf die zentralen Aspekte der digitalen Produktentwicklung zielen.

Gute Ideen bleiben hängen – manchmal zehn Jahre lang.

Vor zehn Jahren suchte der autodidaktische Entwickler und Designer Thomas Bachem eine Hochschule für seinen digitalen Unternehmergeist. Er wurde enttäuscht: Die deutsche Hochschullandschaft hatte Menschen wie ihm wenig zu bieten. Informatik studieren bedeutete Mathematik und Computertheorie. Während im Netz ein völlig neues digitales Ökosystem entstand, beschränkten sich die angebotenen Studiengänge auf das Auswendiglernen der immer gleichen Inhalte.

Mangels Alternativen entschloss er sich für eine private Wirtschaftshochschule in Köln. Hier erlebte er erstmals das Prinzip angewandter Wissenschaften: Das Lernkonzept verband akademische Theorie mit echten Projekten und bot persönliche Förderung auf Augenhöhe. Aus dieser Erfahrung reifte die Vision einer neuartigen Hochschule, die alles verbinden sollte: Digitales Know-How und Unternehmertum, Teamgeist und persönliche Betreuung, aber vor allem echte Projekte mit persönlichem Wachstum.

Zehn Jahre später hatte er das Problem auch aus einer anderen Perspektive kennengelernt. Als erfolgreicher Gründer und Unternehmer hatte er erfahren müssen, wie schwer es ist, qualifizierte Mitarbeiter zu finden. Gute Entwickler, Interaction-Designer und Produktmanager, das Rückgrat eines jeden Tech-Unternehmens, waren in Deutschland und Europa rar gesät – unter anderem, weil es noch immer keine Hochschule für digitale Pioniere gab. Wann, wenn nicht jetzt? Und er war nicht alleine mit dieser Erkenntnis.

The best way to predict the future is to invent it.Alan Kay, Computerpionier

Eine Branche investiert in ihre Zukunft

Auch deshalb war es nicht schwer, mehr als zwei Dutzend der erfolgreichsten Internet- und Startup-Unternehmer für die Idee der CODE zu gewinnen.

Über unsere prominenten Unterstützer wurde in der letzten Zeit viel in der Presse berichtet.

Interesse an mehr zur CODE? Unser Newsletter hält immer die aktuellsten Infos bereit.

Mit Unterstützung der Wissenschaft

Der akademische Beirat der CODE sorgt für ständigen Input aus Forschung, Innovation und Didaktik. In Wissenschaftskreisen bestens vernetzt, hilft er dabei, in der Gründungsphase die passenden Professorinnen, Wissenschaftler und Dozentinnen zu finden, die unsere Mission, unseren didaktischen Anspruch und unsere Begeisterung teilen.

Dr. Shermin Voshmgir

Blockchain-Expertin, Gründerin des BlockchainHub, Referentin und Gastdozentin an der Vienna University of Economics

Prof. Dr. Birger Priddat

Ökonom und Philosoph, Seniorprofessor und ehem. Präsident der Universität Witten/Herdecke

Prof. Dr. Achim Bachem

Mathematiker und Computerwissenschaftler, ehem. Vorstand des FZ Jülich und des Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtzentrums

Prof. Dr. Sven Ripsas

Unternehmer und Pädagoge, Wirtschaftsprofessor an der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht Berlin

Prof. Hartmut Wöhlbier

Physiker und Designer, Professor für interaktive Medien an der Hochschule Mannheim

Prof. Dr. Diana Knodel

Computerwissenschaftlerin und Unternehmerin, Gründerin von App Camps, Gastprofessorin an der TU Berlin

Dr. Fabian Geier

Philosoph und Informatik-Ethiker, Gast-Assistenzprofessor am Yale NUS College

Prof. Dr. Michael Erlhoff

Designtheoretiker und Kunsthistoriker, Gründungsdekan der KISD und Honorarprofessor an der HBK

Prof. Dr. Stephan Stubner

Präsident der HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management

Im Einsatz für die digitalen Pioniere von morgen

Lernen an der CODE soll Lebenserfahrung, Herausforderung und Spaß zugleich sein:
Wir tun alles, damit unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen mehr aus ihrem Studium mitnehmen als ein Bachelor-Zeugnis. Unser Lernkonzept fördert persönliche, professionelle, soziale und kommunikative Kompetenzen. Mit der Unterstützung der erfolgreichsten deutschen Internet- und Startup-Unternehmer schaffen wir eine Plattform, die den begabtesten jungen Menschen ein außerordentliches Studium bieten kann – unabhängig von finanziellen oder sozialen Hürden.

Das Team

Das Gründungsteam der CODE kombiniert erfolgreiche Internet-Unternehmer mit professionellen Hochschulmanagern und die Beweglichkeit eines Startups mit einem kompromisslosen Anspruch an Qualität und einer inspirierenden Vision.

Don’t aim for success if you want it; just do what you love and believe in, and it will come naturally.David Frost, Journalist

Manuel Dolderer

manuel@code.berlin

Präsident

Thomas Bachem

tom@code.berlin

Kanzler

Jonathan Rüth

jonathan@code.berlin

COO

Ina Wagner

ina@code.berlin

Head of Admissions

Britta Kiwit

britta@code.berlin

Head of Marketing

Margaux Pelen

margaux@code.berlin

Head of Partnerships