CODE Catalyst, a springboard for young entrepreneurs

Entrepreneurship is deeply embedded into CODE’s DNA. We boost and stimulate our students’ entrepreneurial spirit by encouraging them to work in teams and develop their ideas together. Anyone who visits CODE’s campus can see that we are not on the traditional campus where students are bound to remain surrounded by only fellow students, researchers, and professors. On the contrary, our campus is placed inside one of the largest startup campuses in Europe – Factory Berlin.

To strengthen entrepreneurial support for our students, we now have CODE Catalyst. CODE Catalyst is bundling all entrepreneurial support structures under its umbrella and focuses on helping for-profit startups and other entrepreneurial endeavors like non-profits or agencies. Our mission is to strengthen our entrepreneurial culture that springs up promising teams and projects and create the right base and infrastructure for our students to manifest their ideas into reality with Catalyst.

We want to take these projects out of the learning environment, out of this building, and take them into the real world and into Berlin and the Berlin startup ecosystem.Thorge Lindner, Product Management student and Catalyst Strategy & Operation
  • Infrastructural support

    Dedicated workspace on the campus.

  • Mentoring

    We collaborate with the network of experienced entrepreneurs and connect them with our students.

  • Domain experts advise

    Students can learn more about product management, software engineering, interaction design, pitching, interpersonal communication, finances, and legal issues.

  • Continuous exchange of ideas

    With like-minded people: fellow founders and incubator experts.

  • Access to the network

    Interest meetings with potential investors and assistance in applying for external funding.

Our mission

CODE Projects have great potential to impact society if they are brought out of the classroom. Entrepreneurship is in alignment with CODE’s practical learning concept. Many CODE students voice interest in founding their startups and companies.Our long-term goal is to turn 50% of CODE projects into startup with one unicorn in five years. CODE Catalyst aims at becoming the university incubator in Berlin No.1!

Get inspired

Our students are building great companies, startups, non-profits, and other great entrepreneurial ventures.

A brief chronicle

Back in 2019, the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology created the funding initiative EXIST-Potentiale to increase the prosperity of the university-based start-up ecosystem.
Our team saw the potential for CODE students that were already founding their own startups and applied to take part in the concept-phase. The application was successful and the concept-phase started in March 2019.

Catalyst Summer Launchpad 2020

The Launchpad is a structured three-month program that aims to turn CODE projects into companies over the summer break. We believe that CODE projects make great companies and we want to assist them on their entrepreneurial journey.

Over the summer the teams were mentored by experienced founders and industry experts. They’ve had a pitching experience in front of our Catalyst jury, the CODE shareholders and other investors.

Moving forward and contact information

To talk more about CODE Catalyst and entrepreneurship at CODE, please reach out to our team:

Our support

CODE Catalyst, ein Sprungbrett für junge Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer

Unternehmertum ist tief in CODEs DNA verankert. Wir fördern und stimulieren den Unternehmergeist unserer Studierenden, indem wir sie ermutigen, in Teams zu arbeiten und ihre Ideen gemeinsam zu entwickeln. Jeder, der den Campus der CODE besucht, kann sehen, dass wir uns nicht auf dem traditionellen Campus befinden, auf dem die Studierenden zwangsläufig nur von Mitstudierenden, Forscher*innen und Professor*innen umgeben sind. Im Gegenteil, unser Campus befindet sich innerhalb eines der größten Start-Up-Campus in Europa – der Factory Berlin.

Um unternehmerische Unterstützung für unsere Studierenden zu stärken, haben wir jetzt CODE Catalyst. CODE Catalyst bündelt alle unternehmerischen Unterstützungsstrukturen unter einem Dach und konzentriert sich auf die Unterstützung von gewinnorientierten Unternehmensgründungen und anderen unternehmerischen Bestrebungen wie Non-Profit-Organisationen oder Agenturen. Unsere Mission ist es, unsere unternehmerische Kultur zu stärken, die vielversprechende Teams und Projekte hervorbringt, und die richtige Basis und Infrastruktur für unsere Studierenden zu schaffen, damit sie ihre Ideen mit Catalyst in die Realität umsetzen können.

Wir wollen diese Projekte aus der Lernumgebung, aus diesem Gebäude herausholen und in die reale Welt und nach Berlin und in das Berliner Gründer-Ökosystem bringen.Thorge Lindner, Product Management Student und Catalyst Strategy & Operation
  • Infrastrukturelle Unterstützung

    Eigener Arbeitsbereich auf dem Campus.

  • Mentoring

    Wir arbeiten mit dem Netzwerk erfahrener Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer zusammen und verbinden sie mit unseren Studierenden.

  • Beratung durch Fachexpert*innen

    Die Studierenden können mehr über Produkt Managemnt, Softwaretechnik, Interaction Design, Pitching, zwischenmenschliche Kommunikation, Finanzen und Rechtsfragen erfahren.

  • Ständiger Gedankenaustausch

    Mit Gleichgesinnten: Gründerkolleg*innen und Inkubatorexpert*innen.

  • Zugang zum Netzwerk

    Interessen-Treffen mit potentiellen Investor*innen und Unterstützung bei der Beantragung von Drittmitteln.

Unsere Mission

CODE-Projekte haben ein großes Potenzial, die Gesellschaft zu beeinflussen, wenn sie aus dem Lehrzimmer herausgebracht werden. Unternehmertum steht im Einklang mit dem praktischen Lernkonzept von CODE. Viele CODE-Studierende äußern Interesse an der Gründung ihrer Start-Ups und Unternehmen. Unser langfristiges Ziel ist es, 50% der CODE-Projekte innerhalb von fünf Jahren mit einem Einhorn zu einem Start-Up zu machen. CODE Catalyst strebt an, der Universitätsinkubator Nr. 1 in Berlin zu werden!

Get inspired

Unsere Studierenden bauen großartige Unternehmen, Start-Ups, gemeinnützige Organisationen und andere großartige unternehmerische Unternehmungen auf.

Eine kurze Chronik

Bereits 2019 rief das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie die Förderinitiative EXIST-Potentiale ins Leben, um den Wohlstand des universitären Entrepreneurship-Ökosystems zu erhöhen.
Unser Team erkannte das Potenzial für CODE-Studierende, die bereits ein eigenes Start-Up gründeten, und bewarb sich um die Teilnahme an der Konzeptphase. Der Antrag war erfolgreich, und die Konzeptphase begann im März 2019.

Catalyst Summer Launchpad 2020

Das Launchpad ist ein strukturiertes dreimonatiges Programm, das darauf abzielt, CODE-Projekte während der Sommerpause in Unternehmen zu verwandeln. Wir glauben, dass CODE-Projekte großartige Unternehmen machen, und wir wollen sie auf ihrem unternehmerischen Weg unterstützen.

Während des Sommers wurden die Teams von erfahrenen Gründer*innen und Branchenexpert*innen betreut. Sie haben eine Pitching-Erfahrung vor unserer Katalysator-Jury, den CODE-Aktionär*innen und anderen Investor*innen gemacht.

Kontaktinformationen

Um mehr über CODE Catalyst und Unternehmertum an der CODE zu erfahren, wenden dich bitte an unser Team: