Sebastian Krebs

Lecturer in Science, Technology and Society

Sebastian is a quirky logician who loves to twist your arguments until they fall apart. He is passionate about challenging everyone (including himself) in their world view, chess, table tennis and any other game — and secretly enjoys existentialist literature and Scandinavian art movies.

Before coming to CODE, he taught philosophy and linguistics at the Universities of Augsburg and Bamberg. He has been proofing the existence of unicorns and experimenting with various teaching formats, but still does not know in which he was most successful.

Sebastian is the only programmer at CODE that does not feel embarrassed by using PHP. But even more than proper coding, he wants to understand how technologies influence our society and our human nature, how humans and computers think — about each other and about themselves, and what it means to act responsibly and according to our thinking.

He joined CODE first and foremost because he wants to learn more about that and everything else together with you. He is also quite passionate about sharing his knowledge and experiences, and if you want to know more about him, he sometimes even enjoys just having a coffee with you.

  • #think
  • #act
  • #be

Sebastian Krebs

Dozent für Science, Technology and Society

Sebastian ist ein schrulliger Logiker, der es liebt, deine Argumente zu verdrehen, bis sie auseinander fallen. Er ist leidenschaftlich daran interessiert, jeden (auch sich selbst) in seinem Weltbild, Schach, Tischtennis und jedem anderen Spiel herauszufordern – und genießt heimlich existenzialistische Literatur und skandinavische Kunstfilme.

Bevor er zur CODE kam, lehrte er Philosophie und Sprachwissenschaft an den Universitäten Augsburg und Bamberg. Er hat die Existenz von Einhörnern nachgewiesen und mit verschiedenen Unterrichtsformaten experimentiert, weiß aber immer noch nicht, in welchem Bereich er am erfolgreichsten war.

Sebastian ist der einzige Programmierer bei CODE, der sich durch von der Verwendung von PHP nicht blamiert fühlt. Aber noch mehr als Coden, will er verstehen, wie Technologien unsere Gesellschaft und unsere menschliche Natur beeinflussen, wie Menschen und Computer denken – über einander und über sich selbst, und was es bedeutet, verantwortungsbewusst und nach unserem Denken zu handeln.

Er ist in erster Linie zu CODE gekommen, weil er mehr darüber und über alles andere zusammen mit dir erfahren möchte. Er ist auch sehr leidenschaftlich dabei, sein Wissen und seine Erfahrungen zu teilen, und wenn man mehr über ihn wissen will, genießt er es manchmal sogar, einfach nur einen Kaffee mit dir zu trinken.

  • #think
  • #act
  • #be