Alexander Fahima

External Lecturer in Interaction Design

Alexander studied psychoanalysis and philosophy in Frankfurt/Main and music theater directing in Hamburg. He is working as a producer and stage director for opera at several opera houses and festivals in Europe.
His interests lie mainly in the analysis and development of a contemporary theatrical language relating to cinematographic methods of seduction. In his opinion, movies and computer games adopted a lot of musical means – and vice versa.
His Credo: „Directing theatre is the art of visualizing ideas, activating space and conveying proportions. It offers the opportunity to design and communicate cultural concepts. Its future lies in this active and critical role in society as well as in the further development of its artistic techniques, especially narration, spatial thinking and a dramaturgy of the audience. The ‘political’ is always a question of dealing with the spectator.“
He recently co-directed John Cage’s Europeras 1&2 in collaboration with the performance collective „Rimini Protokoll“ at Oper Wuppertal and created a concert happening for the Ensemble Intercontemporain at the Philharmonie de Paris. His latest writing, a „Dissociative Method of Stage Directing for Music Theatre”, is about to be published at TEXTEM VERLAG.

Alexander Fahima

Externer Dozent in Interaction Design

Alexander studierte Psychoanalyse und Philosophie in Frankfurt am Main und Musiktheaterregie in Hamburg. Er arbeitet als Produzent und Regisseur an mehreren Opernhäusern und Festivals in Europa.
Sein Interesse gilt vor allem der Analyse und Entwicklung einer zeitgenössischen Theatersprache im Zusammenhang mit kinematographischen Methoden der Verführung. Seiner Meinung nach haben Filme und Computerspiele viele musikalische Mittel eingesetzt – und umgekehrt.
Sein Credo: „Theaterregie ist die Kunst, Ideen zu visualisieren, Raum zu aktivieren und Proportionen zu vermitteln. Es bietet die Möglichkeit, kulturelle Konzepte zu entwerfen und zu kommunizieren. Ihre Zukunft liegt in dieser aktiven und kritischen Rolle in der Gesellschaft sowie in der Weiterentwicklung ihrer künstlerischen Techniken, insbesondere der Erzählung, des räumlichen Denkens und der Dramaturgie des Publikums. Das „Politische“ ist immer eine Frage des Umgangs mit dem Zuschauer.“
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Performance-Kollektiv „Rimini Protokoll“ an der Oper Wuppertal führte er kürzlich die Co-Regie von John Cages Europeras 1&2 und kreierte ein Konzertereignis für das Ensemble Intercontemporain in der Philharmonie de Paris. Sein neuestes Werk, eine „Dissoziative Methode der Bühnenregie für Musiktheater“, steht kurz vor der Veröffentlichung im TEXTEM VERLAG.